Screenplay

Fade In:

Int.  BEDROOM – NIGHT

Fairy lights decorate the bedstead with the rose pillows and bedspread bringing a dreamy glow to the room.

CINDY REILLY

This is the perfect setting for the scene I play in my mind. 

CINDY REiLLY TOO

What about the sand, sun, and the sea?  The waves shushing all your worries down, down, to squirm with the shoals and sharks.

INT.  BEDROOM – NIGHT

100 screens all showing a different play. 

CINDY REILLY

If only.  This is my mind.  100 different screens, 100 different plays.  I’m working on scripts.  What’s the script today?  Only 100 screams because bed, relax, sleep is all I want.  Even in the day.  I just want to sleep.  I don’t want to think of the 100 screens but each is flashing furiously in and out of my mind with one scenario after another.  My life in play. Why did I do this, act like that, say this, carry out that? How have my actions affected this person, that person, my own person?  Pain. Hurt. Regret.  All showing from my cloud.  All stored in that cloud.  Weighing down that cloud. 

CINDY REILLY TOO

As one cloud drifts north, another sails in from the south.

CINDY REILLY

My file is forever stored in the cloud.  Is it possible that my cloud could hang over others, that they could help me disperse it?

CINDY REILLY TOO

Who should know the answer to this?  The neighbours, the local policeman, the friendly Doberman who cocks his leg against your hedge?  The doctor perhaps?

CINDY REILLY

Should I call the doctor? What would I say? Please, help me doctor. You see I have this cloud hanging over me and it’s not for leaving me alone, however hard I try.  I’ve tried ignoring it, I’ve tried speaking to it, I’ve tried running from it, I’ve tried flying with it. I’ve even tried to blow it away, and it does go, but then it comes back.  Same format as before.

CINDY REILLY TOO

But you see it carries all your files, your scenes, your settings, your screenplays.

(Cindy Reilly gasps for air)

CINDY REILLY TOO (CONTINUES)

It’s not my fault that they’re all showing at once.

CINDY REILLY

Give me air.  Pure uncluttered air.  Air that will free me.  Air that breathes happiness.  Air that will make me laugh and smile without worry or fear.  I’m looking for some non-anxiety air, as my cloud has ceased providing this. Is this normal?  Do I need help? 

DOCTOR

No dear, you’re doing fine.  Just grab a screen, any screen and embrace it.  You’re the director.  Play around with the screens, mix and match, join up, rotate, crop.  Do what you must for your screenplay.  Let nothing else matter. 

EXT. BEACH – DAY.

A woman stands by the sea, she wears a sunhat, her face is hidden, all but her mouth, but her body language is easy, she’s relaxed, she’s contemplative.  Her lips curve slowly into a smile.  She laughs then she runs into the waves kicking her feet in the sea. 

Fade out:

the end

Published by Jimjan's journal

I like to write.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started